The City of Canterbury (RP: /ˈkæntəbərɪ/ or /ˈkæntəbrɪ/) is a local government district with city status in Kent, England. The main settlement in the district is Canterbury.


City of Canterbury

The district was formed on April 1st, 1974 by the merger of the existing city of Canterbury with the Whitstable and Herne Bay Urban Districts, and Bridge-Blean Rural District. The latter district entirely surrounded the city; the urban districts occupied the coastal area to the north.


City of Canterbury

Elections to the city council are held every four years, all of the 50 seats on the council being elected. After being under no overall control for a number of years, the Conservative party gained a majority at the 2007 election and increased it in the 2011 election.

Following the United Kingdom local elections, 2011 and subsequent by-elections, and defections between groups the political composition of Canterbury council is as follows:


City of Canterbury

Within the district are the towns of Herne Bay and Whitstable, which with the parishes and the cathedral city itself, make up the 'City of Canterbury' district. There are 26 parishes within the district, as follows:

  • Adisham
  • Barham
  • Bekesbourne with Patrixbourne
  • Bishopsbourne
  • Blean
  • Bridge
  • Chartham
  • Chestfield
  • Chislet
  • Fordwich: has town status
  • Hackington
  • Harbledown and Rough Common
  • Herne and Broomfield
  • Hoath
  • Ickham
  • Kingston
  • Littlebourne
  • Lower Hardres
  • Petham
  • Sturry
  • Thanington Without
  • Upper Hardres
  • Waltham
  • Westbere
  • Wickhambreaux
  • Womenswold

Swalecliffe is an unparished area within the district.

The area is largely rural, with a coastal strip taken up by the almost unbroken spread of seaside towns and beautiful beaches from Seasalter, west of Whitstable, to Herne Bay, Kent. Between them and the city, the hills rise into the well wooded historic Blean, south of which is the Great Stour flowing from its source beyond Ashford. The city of Canterbury stands upon this river.

Twin towns

The district participates in the Sister Cities programme, with links to Bloomington-Normal, USA and Vladimir, Russia.

Several towns and villages within the City of Canterbury district have their own twinning arrangements; see in particular Canterbury, Whitstable and Herne Bay.

See also

  • District of Canterbury Credit Union


City of Canterbury

External links

City of Canterbury
  • Canterbury City Council
  • Population breakdown
  • City of Canterbury councillors listed by ward, as of 2010

City of Canterbury

Post a Comment